Why I Quit PDP, Presidential Primary – Peter Obi

Why I Quit PDP, Presidential Primary – Peter Obi

President aspirant of the Peoples Democratic Party, Peter Obi, has explained why he resigned from the opposition party and withdrew from its primary election slated for end of May.

Sources had reported that Obi announced his resignation and withdrawal from the presidential race in a letter addressed to the Chairman of the opposition party, Iyorchia Ayu.

Obi stated that the recent developments won’t make it possible for him to make “constructive contributions”.

The Former Governor of Anambra State, disclosed this in a statement titled, ‘Resignation From Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Withdrawal from the Presidential Contest’ and addressed to the PDP National Chairman, Iyorchia Ayu.

Obi said, “I am writing to intimate you of my resignation from the Peoples Democratic Party, which was conveyed to the Chairman of Agulu Ward 2. Anaocha LGA Anambra, effective Friday 20 May, 2022. Consequently, I am by this letter informing you of my withdrawal for the PDP Presidential Primaries.

“It has been a great honour to contribute to nation-building efforts through our party. Unfortunately, recent developments within our party make it practically impossible to continue participating and making such constructive contributions.

“Our national challenges are deep-seated and require that we each make profound sacrifices towards rescuing our country. My commitment to rescuing Nigeria remains firm, even if the route differs.

“I wish to thank you personally for your graciousness and leadership. I wish you well and best of luck in the service of the country.”

Obi was supposed to battle it out with other PDP presidential aspirants which include former Vice President, Abubakar Atiku; two former Senate Presidents, Bukola Saraki and Anyim Pius Anyim; Governors Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto); Nyesom Wike (Rivers); Bala Mohammed (Bauchi); Emmanuel Udom (Akwa Ibom); businessman, Mohammed Hayatu-Deen; former governor of Ekiti State, Ayo Fayose; Sam Ohunabunwa, and Dele Momodu.

Leave a Reply